## San Antonio Iowa Club Annual Board Meeting May 15, 2022

The meeting began at 5:22 p.m. via Zoom conference call in San Antonio, TX.

Scott Hanson chaired the meeting and declared that we had a quorum.

Voting members who attended included the following:

Nick Clayton	Cathy Hanson
Ilene Devlin	Scott Hanson
Kelsi Fraser	Steve Newman
	Alyssa Smith

### Minutes

The minutes of May 16, 2021, SAIC board meeting were approved unanimously on a motion by Ilene Devlin and seconded by Nick Clayton.

## **Old Business**

There were no open issues.

## **New Business**

**Reports of Officers** None.

# **Reports of Standing Committee Chairs**

• ASIST

Details of how the ASIST night works locally were discussed. Kelsi Frazer volunteered to chair the ASIST Committee for 2022.

Club Apparel

Alyssa Smith is chair of the Club Apparel Committee. The 2021 sale netted \$137.21 to the scholarship fund. A new logo is being considered for the 2022 sale. Underground Printing allows a six-weeks free period that the club select in which to sell t-shirts. Alyssa will contact them to see if the club can do two three-week segments to boost sales.

#### **Reports of Special Committee Chairs**

- Calendar Year End Giving raised \$75 for 2022 for the SAIC scholarship account. In 2021, it raised \$2,500.
- One Day for Iowa raised \$2,485 for 2022 from the San Antonio area. Mark Siegel donated \$1,000, which was matched by his company Ernest & Young. In 2021, \$1,250 was raised.

### **Club Finances**

- The SAIC scholarship fund contains over \$8,000. In past years, one \$1,000 scholarship was offered by the SAIC, which was usually matched by \$1,000 from the U of I. This year, the University of Iowa Center for Advancement (UICA) also added \$500 for turning in our FY 22 paperwork.
- The UICA wants a commitment by July 2022 for any scholarship for FY23 from SAIC. After discussion, Nick Clayton moved and Kelsi Fraser seconded a motion to give one \$2,000 scholarship from SAIC, which will, hopefully, be matched by a \$1,000 donation from the U of I. The motion passed unanimously.

### **Club Activities**

- For the seven game watches held in FY 22, the club averaged 14 people per game. The COVID-19 pandemic and many Iowa games being televised are probably causes for lower attendance.
- Alyssa Smith and Nick Clayton volunteered to co-chair the Venue Search Committee. Members will include Kelsi Fraser and Steve Newman. They will try to locate two or three possible venues for game watches. Criteria needed include the following:
  - The group can sit together.
  - The venue provides sound for each game.
  - The venue guarantees that it can provide cable channels for all games, including the Big Ten Network.
  - The committee will find out if the venue requires a per game contract that might include a minimum number of people attending and/or minimum money spent.
- For compliance with UICA Standards for Recognized IOWA Clubs, Scott Hanson submitted the FY22 paperwork in February 2022. The UICA, thus, donated \$500 toward the SAIC scholarship fund for doing so. The FY 23 paperwork is due May 20, 2022. Board members are covered by the U of I insurance policy.
- Election of Directors

SAIC directors serve one- to two-year terms, with officers serving one-year terms. Ilene Devlin and Cathy Hanson presented the slate of directors:

Directors (At Large)	Term	Expires
Nicholas Clayton	2	2023
Kelsi Fraser	2	2023
Cathy Hanson	2	2024
Steve Newman	2	2024

Steve Newman moved and Nick Clayton seconded a motion to accept the directors slate as presented. The motion passed unanimously.

Officers	Term	Expires
H. Scott Hanson (President)	1	2023
Alyssa Smith (Vice President)	1	2023
Ilene Devlin (Secretary-Treasurer)	1	2023

Nick Clayton moved and Steve Newman seconded a motion to accept the officer slate as presented. The motion passed unanimously.

### **Other Items**

- Annual Leadership Workshop The University of Iowa Center for Advancement will hold the 2022 Annual Leadership Workshop on Friday, September 9, 2021, in Iowa City. All board members are eligible to attend.
- Board Member Support

Scott Hanson thanked all the board members for their support during the 2021–2022 year.

Steve Newman moved and Nick Clayton seconded a motion to adjourn the meeting. The meeting was adjourned at 6:21 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Ilene W. Devlin, Secretary